RSS Feed

Once I Was Asked… (1973): …Why I Continued to Write

Brandon Watt, Once I Was Asked… (Exposition Press, 1973)

[originally posted 11Jun2001]

photo credit: nogoodcause.blogspot.com

We can’t show it to you because the Internet fails us (and I got rid of it long, long ago).

I should have known. A little digging in the right places tells me Exposition Press is an “infamous” vanity publisher. Hmmmm.

When the author bio begins “Brandon Watt is a pseudonym…”, the alarm bells go off. While the description never says why “Mr. Watt” hose to use a pseudonym, a quick glance at a random page from this collection of tripe that would put Susan Polis Schutz to shame leads one to believe one has a hypothesis: “The witching hour stalks boldly the carcass of the day.” Need I go on to the second line?

If I had negative stars, I’d apply them to this. If anything else tops my worst-of-the-year list, pity me, for it scares me that a worse book than this might exist. (zero)

About Robert "Goat" Beveridge

Media critic (amateur, semi-pro, and for one brief shining moment in 2000 pro) since 1986. Guy behind noise/powerelectronics band XTerminal (after many small stints in jazz, rock, and metal bands). Known for being tactless but honest.

One response »

  1. Pingback: You Let Me Cry Again (1976): …by Reading Me This | Popcorn for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

