RSS Feed

Busy Timmy (1948): St. Francis of the Backyard

Kathryn Jackson, Busy Timmy (Golden Press, 1948)

 

photo credit: urchinmovement.com

I wonder how many kids were bummed out that animals never came and watched them playing in their sandboxes because of this book.

My wife tells me that Busy Timmy was my brother-in-law’s favorite book when he was a toddler. I’d never heard of it before we inherited a huge load of my wife’s family’s pre-lit books, but she pulled this one out specifically, and I read it to the Bean. It’s a very simplistic take on “I can do it all by myself”, and I didn’t think he was going to be all that taken with it, but he asked for it again right after we were finished, and then the next night as well, something that is increasingly rare these days. The rhythm has a fine lulling quality to it, and popping a few animals into the story is never a bad idea; quite likable, and the Bean agrees. Another generation shows its love for Busy Timmy. *** ½

About Robert "Goat" Beveridge

Media critic (amateur, semi-pro, and for one brief shining moment in 2000 pro) since 1986. Guy behind noise/powerelectronics band XTerminal (after many small stints in jazz, rock, and metal bands). Known for being tactless but honest.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Capsule Reviews, October 2014, Part 2 | Popcorn for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

